"Hiring for experience is overrated" and other valuable lessons in our People Strategy Briefing for September

#Leadership

"Hiring for experience is overrated" and other valuable lessons in our People Strategy Briefing for September
Our monthly update - carefully selected & neatly compiled - of everything you should know and read about the wonderful world of talent, leadership & organizations.

As Western societies are ageing, so is their workforce. And this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, according to a new report published by the OECD. 

Ask any (hiring) manager what they first and foremost screen candidates for and they will tell you: Experience! It sounds so logical. If you want a prospective employee to be great at their new job, you just get someone who has experience in doing that job. Well, a new study begs to differ! 

In this episode of the Digital HR Leaders podcast David Green interviews professor, speaker and HR superbrain Dave Ulrich about the role of the HR business partner in the digital age, in what ways organizations are using people analytics and how leaders can get more out of their HR teams. 

IBM has developed a new personality insights tool, that only needs 100 to 3,000 of your written words (depending on how accurate you want the result to be) in order to tell you what kind of person you are. Creepy? Maybe. But does this also have implications for human rights?

Lousy pay (if any) and a learning curve all the way from making coffee to making photo copies? Internships have, thankfully, long evolved since those dark days and are actually shaping the future of work.

HR Guru No.1, Laszlo Bock, on his new company, the lessons he learned at Google and why he thinks HR is on the brink of revolutionary changes. 

Going agile? Good for you! These 5 steps for spreading & implementing agility on a company-wide scale, not only on a team or unit level, will make this a lot easier. 

If the saying is right that staying at the top is a lot harder than getting there, then this is especially true for business models in times of disruptive digital developments. This new McKinsey study looks into which strategies have proved successful for established companies when navigating the challenge of digitization

Peakon has analyzed data from almost 22,000 employee comments left on their platform, resulting in interesting findings on (for instance) what different generations think about their workplace, which role geographical factors play and what would be the one thing employees would change if they had a magic wand. 

Hiring for cultural fit is actually a great idea and we stand by this! However, we all tend to confuse cultural fit (i.e. alignment with the company's vision, goals and way of working) with general likability of a candidate. Here’s how to get it right.

Event calendar

Meet us

"Berufserfahrung ist überbewertet" - Das Neueste aus Leadership, Organisationsdesign und People Operations

#Leadership

"Berufserfahrung ist überbewertet" - Das Neueste aus Leadership, Organisationsdesign und People Operations

LinkedIn hat Deutschlands 25 beliebteste Startups zusammengestellt - zumindest wenn es nach Jobsuchenden geht. 

Die westlichen Gesellschaften altern und so mit ihnen auch die erwerbstätige Bevölkerung. Warum das nicht zwangsweise etwas schlechtes sein muss, erklärt ein neuer Bericht der OECD.

Man frage einen beliebigen (Hiring) Manager auf was er als allererstes achtet, wenn er sich Kandidaten für eine Position anschaut, und er wird antworten: Berufserfahrung! Klingt durchaus sinnvoll. Wenn man will, dass der zukünftige Mitarbeiter gut in seinem neuen Job ist, dann denkt man Erfahrung in genau diesem Job ist die logische Voraussetzung dafür. Nun ja, eine neue Studie hat herausgefunden: Berufserfahrung ist überbewertet.

In dieser Folge des Digital HR Leaders Podcast spricht David Green mit HR Superhirn Dave Ulrich über die Rolle des HR Business Partners im digitalen Zeitalter, People Analytics und wie Organisationen sie einsetzen und darüber wie Führungskräfte das Beste aus ihren HR Teams herausholen können.

Fans von Persönlichkeitstests aufgepasst: IBM hat ein neues Tool entwickelt, dass auf Basis von 100 bis 3.000 geschriebenen Wörtern (je nachdem wie präzise man es haben möchte) die Persönlichkeit des Autors analysiert. Gruselig? Mag sein. Aber hat das auch menschenrechtliche Konsequenzen? 

Schlechte Bezahlung (wenn überhaupt) und eine Lernkurve die von Kaffeekochen bis kopieren reicht? Die düsteren Zeiten in denen das der Arbeitsalltag von Praktikanten war, sind zum Glück vorbei. Denn mittlerweile gestaltet diese Arbeitsform durchaus die Zukunft der Arbeit mit.

HR Guru Nummer 1, Laszlo Bock, spricht über sein neues Unternehmen, was er aus seiner Zeit bei Google gelernt hat und warum er denkt, dass HR auf der Schwelle zu revolutionären Neuerungen steht. 

Da wir ja jetzt alle (mehr oder weniger) agil werden, hier 5 Bereiche, die Agilität durchdringen muss, damit diese Art zu arbeiten nicht nur in einzelnen Teams oder Bereichen ankommt, sondern im ganzen Unternehmen Anklang findet.

Erfolgreich sein, ist nicht gleich erfolgreich bleiben und letzteres ist für Unternehmen insbesondere in Zeiten von disruptiven, digitalen Veränderungen ganz schön schwierig. Diese neue Studie von McKinsey analysiert die Strategien mit denen etablierte Unternehmen die Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung erfolgreich bewältigt haben.

Peakon hat die Daten von über 22.000 Mitarbeiter-Kommentaren auf ihrer Platform analysiert und ist dabei zu interessanten Erkenntnissen gekommen, z.B. darüber, was Mitarbeiter ändern würden, wenn sie einen Wunsch frei hätten.

Die kulturelle Komponente bei Einstellungsentscheidungen in den Vordergrund zu stellen, ist eine ziemlich gute Idee - wir bleiben dabei! Der Haken ist: Wir alle neigen dazu kulturelle Passung (also Übereinstimmung mit der Vision, den Zielen und der Arbeitsweise des Unternehmens) mit genereller Sympathie für einen Bewerber zu verwechseln. So geht es richtig!

Event Kalender

i-potentials Events